GPConf – Trans Policy PASSES

Today has been a really positive day at the Green Party Autumn Conference, and I would like to quickly thank everyone who supported the C4 – Trans Identities are Valid motion, and helped us get it passed! It had 8 people oppose it, but over ONE THOUSAND people support it!


That means that the top of our trans policy will read;


RR520 The Green Party recognises that there are many Gender Identities, that are within, and outside of the traditional Gender Binary of man and woman. The Green Party recognises that Trans Men are Men, Trans Women are Women, and that non-binary identities exist and are valid. We shall respect transgender and non-binary people’s identities as real. The Green Party shall include, and push for further acceptance of, transgender and non-binary people within all areas of society.


Again let me say


Thank you for the support. Be it through co-proposing the motion, voting it high up in the prioritisation ballot, voting for it at Plenary, or providing support to myself and our other trans, and non-binary members.


Aimee Challenor

Extending the Green Party’s trans policy even further

The final agenda for the Green Party’s Autumn Conference is now published and available to members. My motion to further the party’s policy on Trans Identities is in position C4, meaning it will likely be heard on the Saturday of Conference.


It’s a simple motion, so it should pass easily, the synopsis is only a few words long; “This motion would affirm that the Green Party believe that the identities of Transgender People are Real and Valid, and that we shall respect them.”


I’d like to thank the following people for supporting the motion;

Molly Arthurs, Kathryn Driscoll, Lee-Anne Lawrance, Elliot Corner, Lucas North, Clare Phipps, Daniel Chester, Fez Endalaust, Jennifer Anderson, Alexander Catt, James Larkin, George Broadley, Kia Pope, Ieuan Hall, Richard Jenking, Blake Roberts, Charlene Concepcion, Paul Donovan, RoseMary Warrington, Charlotte Ward, Sarah-Jane Riley, Oscar Gillespie, Emma Leigh, Samantha Pancheri, Samir Jeraj, James Foster, Lowri Jones, Chandler Wilson.


Members of the Green Party of England and Wales can view the Final Agenda on the Members Website here.